Mahathir Science Award – 2020 won by Professor Sir Alimuddin Zumla

Go Back


Mahathir Science Award (MSA) – 2020, the most prestigious International Science Award for Tropical Sciences (by Malaysia) was won by Professor Sir Alimuddin Zumla, a Zambian-UK national. This is the first time a recipient of the Award has been presented with the prize abroad as Sir Alimuddin received the prize from Mr. Zahid Rastam, Chargé d'Affaires at the Malaysian High Commission in London, where he lives.

In previous years, the prize was presented by the Malaysian King in a private ceremony in Malaysia. It was also first time that the awarding ceremony was held virtually and broadcasted live on 29 Jun 2021. The ceremony was witnessed by the peoples from all walks especially the scientific community. Prof. Manzoor Soomro, President ECOSF as a Foreign Fellow of ASEAN Academy of Engineering and Technology (AAET) and the Member Governing Board of International Science, Technology and Innovation Centre under the auspices of UNESCO (ISTIC) Malaysia, was invited to join the ceremony and he witnessed the ceremony virtually.

Sir Alimuddin is Professor of Infectious Diseases and International Health at University College London, UK and Consultant Infectious Diseases Physician at UCL Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, London. In his acceptance speech, Sir Alimuddin said that he has been fortunate enough to work with thousands of wonderful people worldwide. He added that the Award of the very prestigious Mahathir Science Award to him reflects the commitment, dedication and hard work of his research teams, collaborators and friends across the world.

The Mahathir Science Award is positioned as Malaysia’s most prestigious Science Award for tropical sciences, and bestowed on any scientist, institution or organization worldwide in recognition of contributions and innovations towards solving problems in the tropics through science and technology and to be awarded to the most deserving based on merit. As such, this extends beyond the boundaries of Malaysia in order to encourage excellence in tropical science that will accord direct benefits to countries in the tropics and indirectly to the global community. The award is granted in following categories:

  • Tropical Agriculture
  • Tropical Architecture and Engineering
  • Tropical Medicine
  • Tropical Natural Resources.

Nominees for the Mahathir Science Award go through a rigorous selection process modelled on the Nobel Prize (scientific) selection procedures to ensure that the Award is presented to the best candidate. MSA Laureates receive USD100,000, a solid gold medal and a certificate as their prize.

ECO Science Foundation © All rights reserved.